What Happens When You Cancel a Task?
When you post a task on Kobble, workers can reserve slots (called claims) before they begin working on it. This system ensures that a worker's slot is guaranteed while they complete the work, so they don't do the labor only to find out the task is full when they try to submit.
What happens when you cancel a task with active claims?
Unlike pending submissions (where the work is already done and submitted), you are allowed to cancel a task when it only has active claims. This is to protect assigners in case they make a mistake in their task instructions or budget and need to immediately stop the task.
When you cancel a task that has active claims:
All active claims are immediately released.
The affected workers instantly receive an in-app notification and an email telling them that the task was cancelled and to stop working on it.
You are refunded your escrow for all unfilled slots.
Why you should avoid casual cancellations
While the system allows you to cancel, doing so abruptly interrupts workers who may have already spent time reading your instructions, downloading your app, or starting the work. Although they are not penalized by the system, their time is wasted.
We strongly encourage assigners to double-check their task links, requirements, and budgets before posting to minimize the need for cancellations and ensure a fair ecosystem for everyone on Kobble.